National Vocational Qualification Framework

The National Vocational Qualifications (NVQ) Framework is a seven-level qualification framework. A Qualification is generally a package of competency units to suit requirements in a particular position in the labor market.

The criteria for giving levels to qualifications are based on three parameters.

a) Complexity of the process that a qualification holder will carry out

b) Learning demand (difficulty in learning of those processes)

c) Responsibility of the job holder when relevant processes are carried out


NVQ Level

Qualification Category


Level 1

National Certificate

Recognizes the acquisition of a core of entry level competencies

Level 2
Level 3

Level 4

National Certificate

Recognizes increasing levels of competencies. Level 4 qualification provides for full national craftsmanship.

Level 5

Level 6

National Diploma

Higher National Diploma

Recognizes increasing level of competencies ranging from technician level to management level

Level 7

Bachelor’s Degree or equivalent

This level includes planning, re-sourcing & management process


The routes of obtaining NVQ certificates
There are two routes to obtain NVQ certificates.

  1. By following an TVEC accredited course
    Students can obtain a NVQ certificate by following a Competency Based Training (CBT) course which is accredited by the TVEC.


  1. Through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)
    If the candidate could prove his/her ability with adequate evidence of his/her competencies pertaining to qualifications stipulated in the National Competency Standards, then the candidate is eligible to obtain NVQ certificate through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL). Application for RPL assessment should be forwarded to National Apprentice and Industrial Training Authority (NAITA) or Vocational Training Authority (VTA).

Career progression pathway

Information obtianed from TVEC